2016.

With 2016 almost coming to an end, I thought I’d blog something about it. I think I had several post about how life is going on but oh well, it’s never too many.

I know for sure there are many reasons to be thankful for this year. But I’m most thankful to have my family with me. As you grow older, some tend to drift away from family while some get closer. I think with us, knowing that soon we will lead our own families made us closer to each other. I’m so happy to see how everyone is growing and becoming good at what they do but I’m also afraid of the time we’re left together. I remembered how I used to cry before going to sleep asking god not to take my family away from me until I’m ready and that one day should be a long long time from now. It’s still a wonder how I’m thousand miles away from my family and hardly feel homesick during my 3 years living here. It’s probably because they’re always so close in my heart and prayers which is why I’m so thankful I get to spend another year with them and hopefully more to come.

I’m not too sure about other things though. My 22nd was a happy one (but tragically became probably the saddest birthday in my lifetime) and I saw a glimpse of dad’s excitement being involved in his children’s lives. If anything, it made me understand my father more about why he is the way he is. Definitely thankful for learning about this side of him this year.

Of course I’m also thankful for all the opportunities in life, the little difference I am able to make and the life-changing experiences. 2016 can be said as one of my happiest but also one of the saddest in my life. And even until today, it still affects me. It’s not all too bad though. It taught me a lot and I think this was necessary for me to learn that sometimes things just don’t go our way regardless of how hard we try to make it happen. In the end it is god’s will. It also changed my perception about love and relationships which I think is more realistic now (or maybe just no more expectation). So I guess, as much as it hurts I’m thankful for all the pain, the craziness and the tears.

I’m also grateful for having my friends around me. Friends, they mean so much to me. There’s just too much to talk about the things I’m thankful for when it comes to friends I don’t even know how to put it down in words but I know that I’ll always treasure those who care for me. And of course all the time spent with them this year is precious.

I know this year has been chaotic but there’s so much to be grateful for and it saddens me to know that while I cry over petty things like relationships there are people in other parts of the world crying blood because of losing their homes and families. So overall, I believe that this year is a blessing for me and that there’s so much reason to smile and be grateful for. There are days when I feel alone and need somebody to talk to but I know I could turn to the people around me. I hope 2017 will be a good year for everyone and that we’ll all continue to lift each other up and spread positivity around us in whatever we do.

P/s : starting my 2017 this time in Spain ! I’ll be bringing a few film cameras (along with my Olympus) this time for experiment purpose, will update it on my film instagram once I get back *excited, if you have any travel tips about Spain, do let me know 🙂

Leave a Reply

