Grad ? *gasp

So yesterday, your girl finally graduated with honours in Accounting and Finance. Yes, graduated although I’m still having a hard time digesting the fact that I’ve completed my tertiary education. When I got my result, the initial reaction was just a mere ‘oh yay’ and I felt mostly relief. I wasn’t really excited about the graduation ceremony because I was already back home and the lazy side of me was being lazy about going back for graduation. But I am so so happy that I decided to attend the ceremony because it was such a beautiful moment. I get to see students like me graduating and being celebrated by their loved ones, the atmosphere at university was really amazing and cheerful it gave me instant dose of happiness. I went for my graduation, took my certificate and when I went back to the accommodation only I had time to see my certificate. Okay, no kidding but when I saw my cert I teared a bit. It’s overwhelming but a mixed feelings of every other emotions. I know I’m not describing it well but I want to pour this thought although I am super sleepy and having difficulties to form the right sentences.

3 years in the UK, a single piece of paper but it is a paper that means so much to me. I almost cried thinking the fact that I got through it all despite having part time jobs and voluntary positions during the term. All those nights, those sleepless nights where I couldn’t even afford to sleep because the moment I lie on the bed I start to worry if I’ve studied enough and end up waking up again to study until morning. Every day was a constant mix of worry and pushing myself to study as much as I can because I can’t afford to waste time (that typical last minute revision). The past 3 years was amazing but I was handling a lot more during my final year. I enjoy working so I gave the internship scheme a shot, preparing my interview the night before with few hours of sleep. Learned a lot through my voluntary positions which is always exciting and challenging. I was also travelling a lot during my final year and in between prepared for work interviews.

I have to admit that some days I don’t take good care of myself. Some days I hole up in the room, do my thing and just shut myself from the world. And then there were days that my body just decided to stop functioning on its own because its reached the maximum stress level. Final year was so meaningful because I went through it alone for the first time in my 3 years of degree. I had friends obviously but I was focusing more on myself this year. I realised that self growth is personal and we can’t really drag people with us if we want to grow. So much of the experiences I went through this year taught me about maturity, emotions and most importantly responsibilities. I realised that loving someone doesn’t mean you have to be with them all the time. You gotta let your partner grow at their own pace too. And that nobody is perfect. A good laugh on rainy days are always the best medicine to cure heartache. Apples are the food to go when you’re sick. Black coffee will give you the strength to stay awake and focus. If you’re stressed, take some time off and do what you like. No way you’ll be productive if you sit in your room for days without seeing the sunlight. Exercising helps with the stress, a lot. Surround yourself with people that constantly challenge themselves. You’ll automatically be motivated to explore your own potentials. Eat your instant noodles with veggies and protein (so you can tell yourself that it’s not exactly unhealthy). This one is important – you don’t need to have many friends and be likeable by everyone. You just need a few that truly understand and matters to you. It’s always easier to be nice to people. Take random videos of moments spent with friends and family, they will be precious to you. Explore the world ! Can’t stress that enough. Always find excuse to learn new things and listen to others before forming your own opinions.

Then there is this one lesson – never ever look down on yourself. It’s fine to be in doubt but don’t sell yourself short. You are a precious human being, well loved by God and every day is a new day for you to improve yourself. Never let people make you feel small and weak to the point that it destroys yourself.

Final year was one important year to me. It taught me so much, made me understand a lot and realise the greatness of His power. It taught me to be consistent in my efforts and to always pray that my efforts will be rewarded. It was a year, but so much more than just another year.

That’s what that single certificate mean to me. I have no idea what lies ahead but I am thankful and blessed with all the years that was given to me and the lessons learned while I was abroad.

If this don’t make sense I’m sorry because this is me typing while I’m half asleep. I just wanted to type down this feelings so that I’ll never forget what graduation did to my emotions. And here’s to a new phase in life, meeting new inspiring people and bringing change to the world every day.

Leave a Reply

